• Nicole Courtney

To Carve a Fae Heart - Book Review



Name : To Carve a Fae Heart

Author : Tessonja Odette

Published by : Crystal Moon Press

Genre : Young Adult Fantasy Romance

Rating :★★★★





This is another book for my 13 books for the summer book challenge. I chose this book because it had fae, romance and a strong and feisty heroine. Its for sure for lovers of Sarah J Mass and Holly Black. A simple enough concept - our girl Evie is alive during a 100 year reaping - where human women have to marry fae to keep the alliance. Sounds simple enough right?


Except when your to be husband has antlers and is considered a massive jerk....



Synopsis


Every young woman dreams of marrying a king.

Everyone except for me.

Because the king I am to wed has razor sharp fangs and a thirst for blood.


All my life I knew I’d come of age during the Hundred Year Reaping. According to the ridiculous treaty, two human girls are sent to the faelands as brides for the fearsome fae king and his devilish younger brother.


Not me. I was supposed to be safe. Two girls were chosen from my village already. But when they are executed for offending the king, my sister and I are sent in their place.


What a mess. Then again, maybe it’s not so bad. The younger brother I’m paired with doesn’t seem as monstrous as I’d expected. He’s delightfully handsome too. But nothing compares to the chilling, dangerous beauty of the fae king. And when my sister flees the castle and her terrifying husband-to-be, I’m left to marry him instead.


If I go through with this, I might not survive my wedding night. If I don’t, no one is safe, neither human nor fae. An ancient war will return, bringing devastation we haven’t seen in a thousand years. Can I sacrifice myself for the good of my people? Or will a dangerous desire be the death of me first?


If I don’t lose my heart, the king will certainly lose his. I’ll carve it out with an iron blade if I have to.


To Carve a Fae Heart is an enemies-to-lovers fantasy, perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince, ACOTAR, and The Iron King. If you like snarky fae, brooding fae royals, sizzling romance, and fierce heroines, you'll love this breathtaking fae fantasy.





Honest thoughts and opinions


Dare I anger the fandom of Court of Thorns and Roses and say this book was better? I will risk it because truth be told, it is a lot better. Mainly because the book does not pretend to be brilliant and amazing.

There is no hype around this book which makes this enemies to lovers a fun read. The book follows a relatively simple concept, Evie has to marry a fae king and it does not pretend to be anything else.


Evie as a protagonist is strong and caring. She loves her sister Amelie and would do anything for her. She wants to become a surgeon and is really good at her job as a surgeon's apprentice. She makes the best of her situation and is just a wholesome character.


While the plot is simple enough, there were interesting twists and turns in the story that I did not see coming. It was like jumping into what you thought was a puddle and ending up in an ocean. The author took her time in developing characters and relationships between characters and the plot is a lot more complex than it gives out at the beginning.


The romance is a sizzling enemies to lovers. Aspen, the fae lord is brooding and a pain. There were a number of times I wanted to throw the book when he and Evie interacted, but I kept wanting to read on and see how their relationship will develop.





Overall, if you want a nice relaxing read full of angst, passion and one with a simple and engaging plot, I would recommend this book.





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All