• Farah Khaled

Farah's 10 Most Anticipated 2021 Releases

Hi hello, friends!


I know I'm kinda late to share my most anticipated releases for this year but late is better than never, right?


I sat down last month to scour all the new releases coming out in 2021 and came up with a long list. And if you didn't know, my favorite genres are: YA fantasy, paranormal, retellings, sci-fi, and romance. So the books in the list are from that these genres, just a heads up.


Now, without further ado, my most anticipated 2021 book releases.


Let's go!


1. Lore by Alexandra Bracken

“Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.”


Greek mythology combined with the modern-day, this novel sounds right up my alley. I have yet to actually dive into any of Alexandra Bracken’s books — tbh read book 1 in The Darkest Minds series years ago and can't remember a thing — but this is definitely the perfect book to introduce me to her writing.


Release day: January 5th, 2021

2. Ace Of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé


Gossip Girl meets Get Out in this explosive thriller set in an elite private school. Devon and Chiamaka are the only two Black students in the prestigious Niveus Academy. And suddenly, their secrets are being revealed to the entire school by an anonymous texter who calls themself Aces.


Will the two of them be able to find Aces and put a stop to them before it’s too late? Ace Of Spades is the kind of novel that will constantly have you on tenterhooks.


Release day: June 1st, 2021

3. Aetherbound by E.K. Johnston


Set on a family-run interstellar freighter called the Harland and a mysterious remote space station, E. K. Johnston's latest is a story of survival and self-determination.


When Aetherbound was announced, I raised my hands to the heavens and yelled “Yesssssssss!” A YA space opera that is, in Johnston’s own words, inspired by “…Jupiter Ascending, The Fisher King, and the strange intersection that was my pandemic lockdown depression and Tswift’s Lover.”


Release day: May 25th, 2021

4. We Free the Stars by Hafsah Faizal


We Free the Stars is the conclusion to the gripping story Hafsah Faizal began in We Hunt the Flame and I am thoroughly excited to get my hands on it. Did I read book 1 yet? Nope, not yet. But that did not stop me from getting this book!


Lush and striking, hopeful, and devastating, We Free the Stars is the masterful conclusion to the Sands of Arawiya duology by New York Times–bestselling author Hafsah Faizal.



Release day: January 19th, 2021

5. A Dark and Hollow Star by Ashley Shuttleworth


According to the author, this is a “sapphic (f/f) and Achillean (m/m) urban fantasy about faeries and alchemy and a group of teens who don’t like each other very much, joining together to solve some murder,” featuring a half-fae outcast, an exiled tempestuous Fury, a dutiful fae prince, and his brooding guardian. Yep, I'm definitely interested!


The cover looks gorgeous. The plot is intriguing. Featuring LGBTQ+ main characters who fully developed with their own goals, adventures, and identities.


Release day: February 23rd, 2021


6. Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent


I’m always a sucker for fairytale retellings of any kind, buT haven't read Little Red Riding Hood retelling before and I'm so excited to read this book!


It’s a safe prediction that Red Wolf will be one of my favorite reads of the year. I’m eager to see what surprises are in store for this particular Little Red — and how shapeshifters play into the story. STOKED.




Release day: July 20th, 2021

7. Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim


Inspired by East Asian folklore and perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo or Tomi Adeyemi, this book “centers an exiled princess who must unweave the curse that turned her brothers into cranes, assisted by her spurned betrothed, a mercurial dragon, and a paper bird brought to life by her own magic.”


And it's a Spin the Dawn prequel.




Release day: July 6th, 2021

8. Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift


Arranged marriages, unique fantasy magic, and an enemies-to-lovers romance? Yes, please! Cast in Firelight is perfect for YA fans who want more fictional lands and sassy characters in their lives.


The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.



Release day: January 19th, 2021

9. These Hollow Vows by Lexi Ryan


Brie hates the Fae and refuses to have anything to do with them, even if that means starving on the street. But when her sister is sold to the sadistic king of the Unseelie court to pay a debt, she'll do whatever it takes to get her back—including making a deal with the king himself to steal three magical relics from the Seelie court.


Yuppp sounds fantastic! and look at the cover!! Definitely, a cover buy for me.


From New York Times best-selling author Lexi Ryan, Cruel Prince meets A Court of Thorns and Roses in this sexy, action-packed fantasy about a girl who is caught between two treacherous faerie courts and their dangerously seductive princes.


Release day: July 20th, 2021

10. A Vow So Bold and Deadly by Brigid Kemmerer


I cannot WAIT to get my hands on the conclusion to this trilogy. Beauty and the Beast retelling turned epic fantasy that brilliantly combines the present-day US with a magical alternate universe. I have never found a story quite like this.


Did I read book 2 yet? Nope. But that did not stop me from preordering book 3. I'm planning on reading A Heart so Fierce and Broken this month with the book club!



Release day: January 26th, 2021

And those are my 10 most anticipated 2021 book releases! For now. There are plenty more to come, I’m sure. And 2021 is sure looking up as far as good reads go!


Which most anticipated 2021 book releases are you excited for?


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All